Hey fam! 

A week ago I went on a tour. 

 Guess where? 

In Lagos. (lol) 

Lagos tourist

I have lived in Lagos my whole life, yet there are places I have not been too. I might have heard of the place and where it is, but never been there. Sometimes, when friends talk about places I haven’t been to, I just keep mute and listen. That’s how serious it is. 

When I saw the Eko Ile tour poster on one of my favorite tour page on instagram, I was excited and my brother asked me  ‘Ah Ah! Why are you excited about going to where you pass through almost everytime?’, I replied him saying I don’t even know where we’re going. He said again ‘bia, pay me so I would show you around Lagos’ (๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚ see igbo boy sense).

Freedom park

Anyways, I got ready to go on the tour and get more knowledge about buildings we walk past all the time without knowing the history behind it. 
Take off venue was from a memorial and leisure park in the middle of down town Lagos, Freedom park in Lagos island. It was formerly Her Majesty’s broad street prison and designed by Architect  Theo Lawson

Freedom park.                                                                           

The park was constructed to preserve history and cultural heritage of Nigerians.  It was built to commemorate the 50th anniversary independence celebration in October, 2010.

I got there late and caught up with my group at the St Georges hall (where Rorrrrry gave me a big hug โ˜บ). It was founded in 1904 and consecrated in July, 1905. known as the patron of the Masonic Samaritan fund. The first meetings were held in the forester’s hall at odunlami street Lagos. And the first master of the lodge was W.Bro. Charles  Unaebauer,who in 1913 became the first deputy district grand master of the district of Nigeria. 

I took this

Next stop was the Center for Black and African Arts and Civilization (CBAAC). This was established by 69 of 1979 following the successful and epoch making hosting of the 2nd world black and African Festival of Arts and Culture (FESTAC77). 

Black heritage

This centre houses all the materials which are rare artifacts and cultural items that were used during FESTAC’77. The decision to handover these materials to Nigeria was to reinforce and build upon the gains of historical festival. 

Black heritage
Broad street.                                                                            

Here is the old CMS bookshop. It was established in 1869 and rebuilt in 1917. The new building is just a little further down on the opposite side of the road. 

This here is the Cathedral  Church of Christ Marina. A year doesn’t go by without a new coat of painting. 

Oldest Cathedral

The oldest Cathedral in Nigeria. There’s no way you go to Lagos Island without noticing this beautiful edifice. It serves as the seat of the Bishop of Lagos and the Archbishop of the Ecclesiastical province of Lagos. It was completed in 1946 and the architecture type is Norman Gothic

Oldest cathedral
So beautiful inside

I was glad I went on this tour because I made new friends and learn things I never knew.

Thanks to Kelechi Anabaraonye (IG:@oc wonder) the curator and Rosemary Okoli (IG:@Rorrrrrrrrry) who assisted. 

Here are other pictures  taken on the tour;

Wing of liberty square
Street of Lagos island
Kelechi Anabaraonye (the curator)
Lagos tourist
Black girls on the street
Beautiful!!
Lagos island
Post office building

There are other places I want to visit, I can’t wait for another tour ,I’m up for any as long as there’s food and drinks to sign out ‘The End’ ๐Ÿ˜‚ ๐Ÿ˜‚ oh yes I’m such a foodie. 

Photo credit: my humble mobile (Tecno canon C9)

Three tips in how to prepare for a tour; 

1. Wear something very comfortable. That’s is light walk around clothes, slippers or sandal or sneakers.

2. Carry light bags so you don’t get tired after 30 minutes. 

3. A note pad, pen and a camera would help you keep memories of what you’re going to see. 

That’s all for today. โ˜บ โ˜บ โ˜บ 

Hope you had a good read โœŒ 

Thanks for stopping by 

Feel free to share, follow, like and comment.

Deuces ๐Ÿ˜˜ ๐Ÿ˜˜ 

Leave a Reply

