#Mydanfochronicles. #3

Been a minute I know.

TGIF!

So the week has been less chaotic. However, passengers with the drama were on board and I have to share with you.

I know how much sleep we all need daily, but you can’t have enough while you live and work in Lagos. You own a car or you don’t, the amount of time spent on the road is enough for you to be productive somewhere else.

You own a car and drive it, you’re not entitled to sleep coz you need to get home safe and not in stitches. You don’t own or drive a car, gives you the privilege to fall asleep the minute you secure a seat on the bus sometimes feeling less concerned.

Tuesday morning, I got on a space van to lekki. Truth be told the seats were very very comfortable and it had enough leg space for my long legs. I sat by the door with two guys beside me.

The journey started and I took my phone out of my bag and kept myself busy on the gram. I started to feel tired when we hit the traffic on third mainland bridge. It was a ‘go slow’ moment and we haven’t gotten anywhere yet on the bridge. So I put my phone back into my bag and tried to get back the portion of sleep I lost while trying to leave early.

I had just closed my eyes getting ready to zone out when I felt someone comfortably place his head on my right shoulder. Ah ah! Is this one well at all? I said in my head as my eyes opened quickly.

Uncle was so comfortable in the position that he didn’t want to wake up when I nudged his head away. He really didn’t want to be bothered. Maybe he was dreaming of something interesting and wasn’t ready to be awoken.

But uncle, you need to wake up. I gave him a slap on his left thigh and he opened his eyes in shock with his head still on my shoulder. Then he turned to look at me when I moved my shoulder again to move him away then he realised that I am not his babe but a total stranger and he was still on the bridge not his bedroom with his girlfriend.

He quickly apologised I accepted and went back to sleep.

Tuesday evening, I was fortunate to get a car heading to a destination close enough for me to get home. The driver turned on the air conditioner with some good music and we were enjoying the ride in no time.

As soon as we got on to falomo bridge, the Bros sitting by the door was snoring so loud. Aye! The weather was so cool to be wasted just like that. Uncle was snoring so loud, that it was disturbing the cool music playing. The driver tapped him and when he opened his eyes, the driver said to him, ‘your snore dey worry me for head’. He had to change position so as not to snore again.

Have you ever fallen asleep on a bus, in a vehicle?

Short or long trip?

TGIF 🙌💃

3 Replies to “#Mydanfochronicles. #3”

Leave a comment